COLUMN: My Autumn includes fashion, football and food

The junction of fall and winter has to be my absolute favorite time of the year. Growing up in northwest Georgia, fall is by far the best season to take a drive. The changing of the leaves to shades of orange, red and yellow is some kind of beautiful. Not to mention, it’s the best time for my wardrobe, I can think of a plethora of sweater/scarf combinations off the top of my head.

latria-rgbBy LaTria Garnigan

Outdoor activities — including apple picking, pumpkin patches, fall festivals and concerts — are a bit more tolerable. Many of these would have been too daunting of a task to accomplish in the summer heat. One can stand to linger outside just a little longer without the threat of heat exhaustion looming in the horizon.

And there’s football. Warning: I’m about to ruffle some feathers, but, psst…proud Tennessee Titans and Tennessee Vols fan here. I know its risky mentioning this in Dawg country, but I stand firm in my allegiance. Haven’t seen my Vols play in person since I was in school there over a decade ago (my goodness, time flies!).

And I sadly witnessed my Titans fall to the 49ers at home three years ago, so I’m due for another round with, hopefully, a win attached. Watching football on TV is great and convenient, but there is absolutely nothing like sitting in a stadium with tens of thousands of other fans either cheering for or healthily debating you about your team.

We can’t count out food. Yes, there’s barbecues still going on, but soups are just around the corner. And for the past four years, I’ve been making a version of a Creamy Tomato & Sausage Tortellini soup from my go-to site for all things culinary — Pinterest.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve found some gems there that have become staples in my kitchen, and this soup is one of them. It’s the easiest recipe to follow, only requires a handful of ingredients and less than 30 minutes of your time! This recipe is very customizable and I usually like to add garlic, onions and even mushrooms. I never make it the same way each time.

So get out and enjoy this beautiful season, and when you get back inside, make this creamy and delicious dish for your friends and family!


Creamy Tomato, Sausage & Tortellini Soup

Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Total time: 20 mins

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound Italian sausage (can buy this already ground)
  • 1 pound tortellini (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 (24-ounce) jar of pasta sauce
  • 3 cups beef or vegetable broth
  • 2 cups half & half or cream
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Cooking instructions:
Heat olive oil in a large stock pot over medium-high heat. Remove sausage casings and crumble into pan. Cook and stir, breaking up sausage as you go. When sausage is browned, stir in pasta sauce, broth and half & half or cream. Bring to a boil and add tortellini. Continue boiling gently until tortellini is done, 8-10 minutes. Stir in basil, salt and pepper and enjoy! | Recipe from letsdishrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

