Column: The Magic of Thinking

A few months ago I put pen to paper — or fingers to keyboard rather — and issued a mini challenge to myself of some things I wanted to accomplish this year.

By LaTria Garnigan

latria-rgbNothing big, just some experiences I wanted to have. These technically weren’t resolutions given that I didn’t make the list until April. Thinking nothing of it, and actually forgetting about the words I wrote in the spring, I went on about life.

Just recently, that column came to the forefront of my mind as the time clock on 2016 is slowly coming to an end and I realized I had inadvertently accomplished all but one of the items on the list.

The list included:

  • seeing a live theater production
  • seeing the Braves play at Turner Field one last time
  • working more on my photography
  • attending an outdoor concert

Three out of four is an accomplishment in my book. Never made it to that outside concert, but unknowingly achieving the other tasks has given me a reason to keep on dreaming.

Next year I’m going big. I’ll make my list bolder — going to challenge myself just to see what happens. This year’s list had simple activities that can be accomplished at the drop of a dime. And the fact that I was able to do them without a concerted effort says something about the influence our subconscious mind has on our life experiences.

There’s just something about the power of words. When you put something in the atmosphere and then let it go, it always comes back to you. This isn’t the first time such a thing has happened, but I’m always amazed when it does.

And it got me to thinking.

I’ve heard of the Law of Attraction, but never deliberately read up on it. I’ve listened to several podcasts where it was discussed and saw some quick mentions about it on Twitter, so I was intrigued. I looked into the practice and was astounded to know that for the last decade or so I had been somewhat incorporating this principle into my life.

If you’re not familiar, the law of attraction is when you focus on positive thoughts and inadvertently bring positive experiences into your life.

One of my firmest beliefs has always been that positivity breeds positivity. Do we sometimes struggle? Duh. Life isn’t always fair and things don’t go the way we hoped, yet all is not lost. And when we do win in life?

It’s okay to celebrate those victories. I have never liked to dwell on the negative or even the things that make us feel blue. I recall whatever the issue is in my mind and find a way to work through it and then focus on what bright light I can glean from the situation.

So I’m going to take all of this knowledge and move forward with making a list of goals that are not unattainable per se, but will be a challenge to accomplish. I believe in writing down a goal and making it plain.

Armed with this newfound intuition, I’m going to see what shining a bright light on them will do.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

